



CHIEF MINISTER'S REGATTA

26 January 2024 NOTICE OF RACE

The Canberra Yacht Club (CYC), in conjunction with Yachting ACT and the ACT Government invites entries in the Chief Minister's Regatta, to be held on Lake Burley Griffin on 26 January 2024.

The Organising Authority is the Canberra Yacht Club

1 RULES

- **1.1** The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2021 2024* except for changes indicated in relevant paragraphs in this Notice of Race and in the Sailing Instructions. The Prescriptions and Special Regulations of Australian Sailing (AS) will apply.
- **1.2** RRS 51 and 52 will be changed as follows:

A competitor may request permission from the Race Committee to use moveable and/or variable ballast for the purpose of increasing stability subject to a boat having been allocated a National yardstick / handicap rating. Stored power may be used for this operation. RRS 51 and 52 are modified to the extent required by this paragraph.

- **1.3** The Sailing Policy of the Canberra Yacht Club (CYC), available on the CYC website, <u>https://canberrayc.com/race-information.php</u>, and the rules of each competing class will apply.
- **1.4** RRS Appendix T will apply. Arbitration may be used prior to a Protest Hearing.

2 COMMUNICATION/NOTICE TO COMPETITORS

2.1 All relevant communications shall be posted on the Official Notice Board within the CYC Sailors Cabin.

3 SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

3.1 The Sailing Instructions will be available from 1200 hours on 26 January 2024 at CYC and thereafter on the CYC website at: <u>https://canberrayc.com/race-information.php</u>

4 ADVERTISING

4.1 Advertising is permitted.

5 ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

- **5.1** The series is open to:
 - (a) All boats with an applicable AS Class Based Handicap (CBH) rating,
 - (b) All dinghy, keelboat and multihull classes with yardsticks listed by AS, and
 - (c) Boats for which a relevant rating has been accepted or allocated by the CYC Sailing Committee.
- **5.2** Competitors may enter either online via the CYC website or by completing, signing and lodging the entry form attached to this Notice of Race.
- **5.3** All competitors, skippers and crew:

CYC Sailing Committee December 2023

- (a) must be a current financial member of the CYC or other Australian Sailing affiliated club.
- (b) hold a valid AS Sail Pass issued by the CYC or
- **5.4** Registration shall be completed by 1400 on 26 January 2024.

6 FEES

6.1 Entry is free for all competitors.

7 SCHEDULE OF RACES

- **7.1** There will be one race for the following Divisions. The warning signal for the first Division to start shall be 1530 hours.
- **7.2** There will be one race per day for the following Divisions:
 - Division 1 Off the beach multihulls
 - Division 2 Boats with an AS or CYC SC allocated CBH of 0.7525 or greater
 - Division 3 Boats with an AS or CYC SC allocated CBH of less than 0.7525
 - Division 4 Dinghies with AS yardstick of 109 and below and International Flying Fifteens (NS14, Sharpie, Tasar, Flying Fifteen)
 - Division 5 Dinghies with AS yardstick between 109 119 inclusive (Aeros, Laser Full Rig, Laser Radial, Impulse, Finn)
 - Division 6 Dinghies with AS yardstick between 119 145 inclusive (Laser 4.7, Pacer, Heron, 2.4, Mirror, Sabre)
 - Division 7 Dinghies with AS yardstick above 145 (Hansas, Opti)
- 7.3 The Organising Authority may, where circumstances dictate, vary the format, classes and divisions and/or the schedule for the series. This will be communicated in accordance with NoR 2.

8 MEASUREMENTS

- 8.1 Each boat, for which its class association or class rules requires it, shall have a valid measurement / rating certificate which is to be produced on demand to any race official or protest committee member.
- **8.2** The onus is on individual competitors to ensure that their boat fully complies with the specifications and conditions of the relevant CBH or Yardstick rating.

9 RACING AREA

9.1 The racing area will include the West Basin/Acton Bay and West Lake parts of Lake Burley Griffin.

10 COURSES

10.1 The courses to be sailed will be detailed in the Sailing Instructions.

11 SCORING

- **11.1** The Scoring System (RRS A4) will apply.
 - (a) The calculation of results for Divisions 2 and 4 will be based on the CBH ratings published by Australian Sailing as at the close of business on Friday 8 September 2023.
 - (b) The calculation of results for Divisions 1, 3, 5, and 6 will be based on AS yardsticks, except that all International Flying Fifteens will sail off a yardstick of 109.
- **11.2** The Chief Minister's Cup will be awarded to the club / organisation with the best performance. This will be scored by the Club/Organisation with the highest number of first places in divisions

with multiple entries and more than one Club/Organisation entered. In the event of a tie, other placings will be taken into account.

12 RADIO COMMUNICATION

12.1 Except in an emergency, a boat shall neither make radio transmissions while racing nor receive radio communications not available to all boats. This restriction also applies to mobile telephones.

13 PRIZES

- **13.1** Prizes and trophies will be awarded at the discretion of the Race Committee.
- **13.2** The Chief Minister's Cup will be awarded to the first placed club / organization, determined by using the method described in 11.2, above.

14 DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

14.1 Competitors participate in the series entirely at their own risk. See RRS 3, Decision to Race. The organising authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the series.

15 INSURANCE

15.1 Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$10 million per event or the equivalent

16 SAFETY

16.1 All races in the series are classified as Category "7" (AS Special Regulations, Part 1). For Off the Beach classes, the AS Special Regulations Part "2" (Off the beach) and prescriptions shall apply.

17 FURTHER INFORMATION

17.1 Contact Canberra Yacht Club telephone 6273 4777 or email at: admin@canberrayc.com





CHIEF MINISTER'S REGATTA Australia Day, 26 January 2024 ENTRY FORM

Skipper's Name:
Boat Name:
Class of Boat:
Sail Number:
Crew Names:
Sailing Club or Organisation:

Declaration:

I have read the Notice of Race of the Chief Minister's Regatta.

I agree to be bound by The Racing Rules of Sailing, rules that govern this event and confirm my boat conforms with the safety provisions outlined in the RRS.

I acknowledge that competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. (See RRS 3 – 'Decision to Race')

I acknowledge that the organising authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

I confirm that the boat entered has third party liability insurance cover of not less than \$10,000,000 per event or the equivalent.

Signed :...... (Skipper) Date: /...... /......