





Chief Minister's Regatta Australia Day 26 January 2016 NOTICE OF RACE

The Canberra Yacht Club (CYC), in conjunction with Yachting ACT and the ACT Government invites entries in the Chief Minister's Regatta, to be held on Lake Burley Griffin on 26 January 2016.

RULES

1. The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing except for changes indicated in relevant paragraphs in this Notice and in the Sailing Instructions. The Prescriptions and Special Regulations of Yachting Australia (YA) will apply. The event is Category 7. Rules of each competing class and the policies and procedures of the Canberra Yacht Club will apply.

ADVERTISING

2. The series is deemed to be Category C, and advertising is permitted.

ELIGIBILITY AND ENTRY

3. The regatta is open to all boat types recognised by the current YA Australian Trailable Yacht & Sportsboat Rule, Sportsboats with a valid Sportboat Measurment System (SMS) rating, Trailerabe Multihulls with a Class Based Handicap (CBH) allocated by the CYC Sailing Committee and dinghy, keelboat and multihull classes with yardsticks listed by Yachting Victoria (YV). Eligible boats may enter by completing and lodging an entry form.

FEE

4. Entry is FREE for all competitors.

ENTRY

5. Eligible boats shall enter using the attached Entry Form, which is to be lodged either by post to reach the CYC by 22 January 2016, or by hand before 1100 hours on 26 January 2016 at the CYC Sailors' Cabin. The CYC Sailors' Cabin will be open from 0900 hours on 26 January 2016. The CYC website address and mailing addresses are indicated at paragraph 16 below.

SCHEDULE

6. There will be one race with the first warning signal being at 1200 hours:

Division 1 International Flying Fifteen

Division 2 Sportsboats

Division 3 Trailable yachts and multihulls

Division 4 Off the beach multihulls

Division 5 Dinghies with VYC yardstick 112 and below

Division 6 Dinghies with VYC yardstick above 112

Division 7 International Optimist

Division 8 Access Dinghies.

MEASUREMENTS

7. Boats shall comply with Class Rules or have a valid measurement / rating certificate which may need to be produced on demand by any race official or protest committee member.

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

8. The Sailing Instructions will be available from 0900 hours on 26 January 2016 at the CYC.

RACE AREA

9. The racing area will include the West Basin/Acton Bay and West Lake parts of Lake Burley Griffin.

COURSES

10. The courses to be sailed will be detailed in the Sailing Instructions.

SCORING

11. The Low Point System (Appendix A (RRS)) will apply. The calculation of results for Division 2 will be based on SMS, Division 3 will be based on the current CBH issued under the YA Australian Trailable Yacht & Sportsboat Rule. A trailable multihull may race under a CBH allocated by the Sailing Committee. The calculation of results for Divisions 1, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 will be based on the Victorian Yachting Council (Yachting Victoria) yardsticks.

RADIO COMMUNICATION

12. Except in an emergency, a boat shall neither make radio transmissions while racing nor receive radio transmissions not available to all boats. This restriction also applies to mobile telephones.

PRIZES

- 13. Prizes will be awarded at the CYC Sailors' Cabin at 1430 hours (or shortly thereafter) on 26 January 2016
- 13.1 The Chief Minister's Cup will be awarded to the club / organisation with the best performance overall.
- 13.2 Cash prizes will be awarded to the winners of each division.

DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

14. Competitors participate in the series entirely at their own risk. See RRS 4, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

INSURANCE

15. Each participating boat shall be insured with valid third-party liability insurance with a minimum cover of \$5 million per event or the equivalent.

FURTHER INFORMATION

16. Contact Canberra Yacht Club

Telephone: 6273 7177

Email: admin@canberrayachtclub.com.au

Address: Mariner Place, Yarralumla, ACT, 2600.

Chief Minister's Regatt

a

Australia Day, 26 January 2016

ENTRY FORM

Skipper's Name:
Yachting Australia Member No:
Boat Name:
Class of Boat:
Sail Number:
If known, VYC Yardstick: or CBH / SMS :
Sailing Club or Organisation:
Division entered: (Please tick one) Division 1 - International Flying Fifteen Division 2 - Sportsboats Division 3 - Trailable yachts and multihulls Division 4 - Off the beach multihulls Division 5 - Dinghies with VYC yardstick 112 and below Division 6 - Dinghies with VYC yardstick above 112 Division 7 - International Optimist Division 8 - Access Dinghies The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined by the Racing Rules of Sailing – 2013-2016, the Prescriptions of Yachting Australian, the rules of the competing classes, (except as any of these are altered by the sailing instructions) and the Sailing Instructions (distributed at Registration). Fleet racing results will be determined using Yachting Victoria yardsticks, Sportboat Measurment System (SMS) ratings, the YA Australian Trailable Yacht & Sportsboat Rule Class Based Handicaps and CBHs allocated by the CYC Sailing Committee for trailable multihulls.
Declaration:
I have read the Notice of Race of the Chief Minister's Regatta.
My boat is covered by at least \$5 million third party liability insurance with (insert insurance company name):
I agree to be bound by The Racing Rules of the ISAF and by all other rules that govern the event.
I acknowledge that the Canberra Yacht Club is not responsible for the seaworthiness of any yacht whose entry is accepted, or the adequacy of its equipment.
I acknowledge Rule 4 - Decision to Race, which states that the responsibility for a boat's decision to participate in a race or to continue racing is hers alone.
Signed:(Skipper) Date:/